Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

I placed a contract on a property and as it turned out both myself and the seller were both real estate agents. In the contract I used my commission to cover the closing costs. The seller agreed and I also stated that closing costs over my commission the seller would pay. The seller agreed.

A month into the mortgage process the mortgage company stated that they wanted a letter signed by both stating were were not in a personal relationship with each other and a copy of our real estate license. I never knew the seller before in fact the property I was purchasing was over 150 miles from my area. I have asked several brokers and other agents who buy from each other on a regular basis who state that they have never been asked to sign such a document. The mortgage company has thrown road blocks after road blocks in the purchase of this farm. The closing postponed 5 times, two appraisals, etc they stated that my credit worthiness was never a question especially with over 30% down. This sure reminds me of discrimination I am a 65 year old retired female. What do you think.

Asked on 6/20/10, 10:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

If I were you, I would provide the letter and certification for which the lender is asking.

Read more
Answered on 6/28/10, 7:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia