Legal Question in Discrimination Law in Virginia

I will graduate from practical nursing program at New River Community College, Dublin, VA, at the end of July. I was told I could not participate in the pinning (graduation) ceremony unless I wore a white nursing dress and white stockings. I requested to be allowed to wear a white uniform top and white uniform pants. My request was denied, stating that the administration said I must comply with the tradition. The one man in the program will be wearing a white top and white pants. Can they deny my participation because I will not wear a dress?

Asked on 7/08/10, 12:32 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Yes, I believe they can, as long as you're a woman and not

a man.

Read more
Answered on 7/08/10, 9:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Other Discrimination Law (Age, Race, Sex, Gender) questions and answers in Virginia