Legal Question in Immigration Law in Virginia

I am a US Citizen and in the process of filing an I-130 application for my father. To make sure all the information I had was correct, I asked my brother to send me a copy of a previous visitors visa application that he had filed on behalf of my father and which was eventually approved.

I realized that he had mistakenly answered no to a question about " Other Names Used". The answer should have been yes as my dad had previously (but no longer does) used his middle in legal documents such as my birth certificate and his marriage certificate. I will be including these documents in my i-130 application. Do I include an explanation of this mistake as an addendum to my application since the USCIS usually has copies of previously filed applications in their system? or do i just answer the question in the I-130 application about former names and include his middle name without any addendum.

Asked on 1/11/17, 10:01 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

As long as the answer is truthful, the latter approach which you've suggested

should be sufficient without having to resort to the more complicated addendum (in my opinion).

Read more
Answered on 1/12/17, 10:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Virginia