Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Virginia

My friend bought a house in Fredericksburg VA about 12 years ago, and there was an existing boundary fence on the property line. The neighbor also uses the division fence, to hook on to support fencing for other parts of his yard. Out of the blue, today he started pulling down the shared fence. This appears to be a violation of VA law, specifically Title 55 Chapter 18. She called the police about the property destruction but although an officer responded, they said it's a civil matter and took no action. The neighbor did stop but put up a sign saying the fence would be completely removed in 48 hours.

Aside from a 'cease and desist' type letter, what can she do to stop this guy from destroying the boundary fence? Aside from small claims court, what are her legal options? She doesn't have munch money and would rather stop the problem before it gets worse.

Asked on 10/30/13, 5:34 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

So, who is the proper owner of this particular "division fence" which needs an

answer before any further answers can be provided in this matter (in my opinion)?

Read more
Answered on 11/03/13, 8:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Virginia