Homestead/Squatters laws (rights)
We have been told that in the state of Virginia if you live some place for 30 consecutive days, with no problems, this land and/or house legally belongs to you. Is this in fact a true statement? We have been living where we are for 1 1/2 years without a lease. We have a double wide home sitting on 8.81 acres.
We would appreciate any information available to us.
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: Homestead/Squatters laws (rights)
Adverse possession rights do not accrue in Virginia until somewhere around 14 years or so have elapsed of such open and notorious possession.