We sold my daughter a car for $1. We signed the title over, dropped the insurance and reported it to the DMV.
My tags were on the car so she could drive to DMV to register car in her name with the promise of turning our tags in. 4 months later she was in an accident which was her fault. Come to find out she never registered the car in her name. I have transcript from DMV saying I sold the car, but no bill of sale. Basically did she steel my tags and can I be held responsible? The accident happened in Maryland we live in Virginia.
1 Answer from Attorneys
I would recommend that in the event anyone from the victim's side in this matter should
contact you that you politely explain that you sold the car involved in the accident to your daughter on such and such date and that she will be responsible for all damages arising from this unhappy
event (whether through her insurance provider if such is available or not).
Office Tel. (703) 340-1655
Related Questions & Answers
Can you do a trial by written declaration in a federal court? Asked 3/18/19, 11:29 am in United States Virginia Traffic Law
I've received a Reckless Driving charge in Middlesex County, doing 82 mph on a 60... Asked 11/04/18, 6:03 am in United States Virginia Traffic Law