Legal Question in Family Law in Wisconsin

My ex-wife has told me that my daughter wants to use her stepfather's last name so that she feels like part of the family. She has gone so far as to use his last name for my daughter at her school and at her doctors offices. My insurance will not cover her, because that is not her name. Is this illegal for her to allow my daughter to use a name that is not her legal name?


Asked on 4/20/16, 6:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Kowalski Kowalski Family Law, LLC

Until/if it is formally changed, your daughter's legal name should be used on all documents. The name cannot be changed without your consent. You may seek a court order requiring use of her legal name.

Read more
Answered on 4/20/16, 7:05 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Wisconsin