Legal Question in Criminal Law in California

Over 5 years ago, a bank account of mine was involved in a legal case. The account was frozen by the bank and it had holds on it. Apparently a family member of mine, that worked for that specific bank was doing some illegal activity. They were depositing money that did not belong to them into my account. This person went to court for the incident and was sentenced and fined. The bank charged the account some money and that was all. I thought the account was done and that the bank had closed it. Recently I began to get phone calls telling me to do something with the account or they where going to turn the funds over to the state, California. I spoke to someone who told me to go into the bank and see what was going on. The account has a some money in it and I am wondering if I can legally take the money out and not be accused of anything in the future? Both customer service and the claims department for the bank told me that the account is cleared from any holds.

Asked on 5/02/12, 7:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Roach Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If it is your account, then it is your money. If the bank no longer has a hold on any of the funds, they are most likely yours and you have simply lost track over the years.

Read more
6/07/12, 6:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8804 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now