Legal Question in Business Law in Florida

Hello. We closed a business 10 years ago (august 2002). We had a credit card machine lease, which we returned at the time the business closed. 10 years later, we received a letter(not even the company we leased this unit from), stating we never returned the unit and they are going to bring a civil suit against us. We don't even have these records of return after 10 years. This is the first we've even heard about this. Is this legal for them to state this after 10 years? What are our recourses? Thank you

Asked on 7/29/12, 4:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The Statute of Limitation has run on any such claim.

Read more
Answered on 7/29/12, 5:16 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now