|  Intellectual Property

question bubble
6/15/00, 11:32 pm

Legal Question


Residual talent fees due if ad used in documentary subject on the web?

I'm producing a short documentary (for a media review programme which is TV-broadcast 1 time only, and webcast indefinitely) on a series of adverts for a single product. These ads, shot over many years, will be analysed for their filmic qualities, themes, and style in the documentary. The ad agency who produced the ads is afraid that if the documentary is shown on the web, then they will be liable for additional talent fees. PLEASE back me up : as we are using extracts of the ads for reportage purposes, talent fees and amount of time it'll be shown on the web are completely irrelevant! Isn't that so?

Cheers; thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search