Alabama | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
credit checks
can an insurance company that i have not been insured with for several years do a credit check on me without my permission and what can i do about it??
credit checks
can an insurance company that i have not been insured with for several years do a credit check on me without my permission and what can i do about it??
|
Read More Answered By: James Patterson |
Re: credit checks This may fall under a impermissible purpose under the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) and your rights may have been violated by this insurance company if you did not authorize the credit review. Contact an attorney that specializes in the FCRA to review your claim. |
|
Read More Answered By: John Watts |
Re: credit checks James Patterson, who practices extensively with the Fair Credit Reporting Act, is right. If you did not give permission then it may very well be an "impermissalbe pull". Couple of things: 1. Was it a "hard" or "soft" inquiry - i.e. does it say on your credit report whether others can see the pull. Sometimes former creditors (or insurance companies) will do what is known as an account review that does not affect your credit score. Other times the credit pull does affect your score.
2. How many years ago did you do business with the insurance company? Some contracts with insurance companies and credit card companies supposedly give the company the right to pull your credit reports forever. The cases are somewhat divided on whether this is right or wrong but be aware this could be the insurance company's answer to you.
Remember to pull your reports for free - http://www.alabamaconsumerlawblog.com/2007/03/first_critical_step_to_correct.html
You can read some questions and answers about the FCRA that we are often asked here - http://www.alabamaconsumer.com/CM/Custom/FAQs-about-Fair-Credit-Reporting.asp
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact James in the Mobile area or you can contact me in the Birmingham area. |
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 83
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-02
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 66
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-27
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 63
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-03
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
► Two court cases-ame debt in two states I just found out that a law firm won a debt...
► Judgement I have a default judgement against me because I did not show up for court...
► Mortgage debt x-wife has the house but man is still on the loan. She is not paying...
► Garnishment My husband has a judgement agajnst him for 7,000. Yesterday he recieved...
► Harassing phone calls about debt We have gotten behind on payments because of a law...
► Credit card debts i am on ssi and ss i have a credit card filing suit against me can...
► Collections can a collection agency garnish my financial aid ? the judgement seems...
More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Alabama| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press