Alabama  |  Family Law

question bubble
1/15/06, 2:33 pm

Legal Question


Bogus Child Support Contempt Charge

I'm being charged with contempt for failure to pay child support. I paid all support due as per the original court order up until my child was 19. She is now 21. There has been no modification to the original court order. I only have proof of payment for the last several years. I paid support directly to my ex-spouse. Will my proof of payment be enough or will I have to prove every single payment? Can I expect the judge to consider a motion for dismisal if I show proof of payment. Also, if this doesn't go in my favor, can I appeal and if so, what are my options?

One last question. This is going through District Court. The amount in question is in excess of $10,000. Per Alabama law, should this not be handled through the Circuit Court or is the contempt charge handled differently?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search