Alabama | Family Law
Legal Question
My ex husband is a known alcoholic and drug addict. After I had begged and pleaded with him to get help, I finally realized that it was past time to get my children and myself out of the situation. To get him to sign the papers, I agreed to a 7-on 7-off schedule with him for custody. I also agreed to him giving $200 a month child support for our daughter (I was pregnant with my son before we met, so he isn't in the divorce papers, due to the fact that my ex has no legal rights to him, even tho I still let him go with his "father" to keep an eye on my daughter). Long story short, after papers were finalized, he slacked up on paying child support, and never once has he kept them a full week (not complaining about that because I would much rather them be home with me than with my ex husband). To date, he is $820 behind in child support. My question is, is there any way I can file for sole custody of our daughter. If I can get sole custody of her, I would give up what money is owed. I dont want the money if I can get his rights revoked. He has many things on his record and I fear for my children's lives when they are with him


