Alabama  |  Legal Ethics

question bubble
1/30/98, 12:41 pm

Legal Question


Can Attorney for state agency modify law to suit needs

The statutes that apply in Alabama do not have a reference to Public Adjusters. The statutes defines an adjuster as one who works for the insurance company. They are reqired to have a license. I am unable to obtain a license in Alabama as I work for the owner only. The legal department for the Alabama Dept. of Ins. interprets that working in any capacity as an adjuster requires a Dept of Ins License. Since I dont work for an insurance company I can not get a license. My activities have been approved by the Alabama Bar. Can the Dept. of Ins. and their attorneys prevent me from working for private owners with insurance policies to assist them in claim preparation? Are they conspiring to deprive me of my civil right to contract and work?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search