Alabama  |  Sexual Harassment

question bubble
6/18/03, 12:43 pm

Legal Question


Is it sexual harassment?

I work with an individual who I initially thought of as a friend until a particular incident. I was going on a business trip to a seminar on a topic. He had already turned down previous opportunities to attend other seminars of this kind, but invited himself along on the one I was planning to attend. He then told me that he had asked the Executive VP if he could go, but then told me that it was my decision. We have gone out to lunch several times, but I began cutting it down to a maximum of once a week because he started calling me at home, on my cell phone, etc. He also started suggesting we eat out after work. He has bought a couple of very small things for me, the last of which I returned and told him I was not comfortable with the situation. I told him this last week and he called me today and again asked me to go to lunch. I can't tell if I am partially at fault, mostly at fault, or what. I don't want to file a claim. I just want to know what approach I should take beyond telling him to back off.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search