Alaska  |  Federal Tort Claims

question bubble
9/14/10, 9:19 pm

Legal Question


What will happen when someone files a mail fraud report against me?

About a month ago, I used swap.com. I made a deal to swap an item with someone. (A DVD for another DVD, if it matters)

I received the DVD that was sent to me, but he/she is claiming that they haven't received the item I sent.

I was told by the site that Mail Fraud Report (Form 8165) was going to be sent in a couple days if I didn't send the item and give them proof (a tracking number).

I sent the item using regular stamps so I didn't get a tracking number.

What is going to happen when the form is filed? I don't have the DVD because I sent it so what are the police going to do?

I know that sometimes things get lost in the mail. It's also probable that the other person is lying and saying that they didn't receive it. I'm not sure though, probably not.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search