Arizona | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
I hired a contractor to put new shingles on my roof and to add a carport to our home. The job took three times as long as he estimated and many mistakes including, nails sticking up on the roof, shingles are not alighned correctly, two serious leaks inside the home causing severe damage to the walls, lighting fixtures are uneven and a host of other problems. I have paid him the first half up front, 5,395.50. The last half was due upon completion and has not been paid yet. The contractor has a lawyer and I was served court papers stating I had 20 days to respond. So, my question is should I retain a lawyer, because I'm not sure I can do it by myself and what would happen if I chose not to pay him?


