Arizona | Immigration Law
Legal Question
I am applying I-485 and is processing now. My husband is in illegal status. How can I get him to be legal status after my case got approval?
I am applying I-485 and is processing now. My husband is in illegal status. How can I get him to be legal status after my case got approval?
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Cho |
This depends on how he first entered the country, legally and overstayed his visa or illegally without inspection.
It's probably best to have a consulation so please feel free to contact me via e-mail or telephone. |
|
Read More Answered By: Marc Seguinot |
The best of luck with your I-485. With regard to your husband: if you are granted lawful permanent residence, you can file an I-130 petition for an alien relative on his behalf. He will have to wait until a visa number becomes available before he can apply for his residency. Frankly, it will take so long, you will probably become a citizen before he obtains his green card. Then, if his I=130 is approved, and a visa number is available, all will depend on whether he entered the U.S. legally with a visa and therefore was inspected, or illegally, without any visa or entry document and without inspection. If he entered legally, no problem: If he did not enter legally, then you are looking at your husband's likely departure to his country and entry through the U.S. embassy. You really should consult with an attorney, but make certain you find a good one. Talk with people you know -- they will lead you to the attorneys worth your consultation fee. We do consults by telephone in the event you can't find anyone locally. Take care and the best of luck to you. |
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 291
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 67
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-19
Springfield, NJ
Questions Answered: 52
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-04-19
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 44
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-21
► I have parted ways with my immigration attorney at a stage when my AOS is pending...
► My son is facing deportation after serving his time in prison here in Arizona. My...
► I am a felon and I have to renew my green card soon. I am married to a US citizen...
► A friend of mine (ex-boyfriend, really) has spent 31 of his 33 years living here in...
► I apply for vawa i am approve by imigration but the lawer told me i need to pay for...
► Is there a public access way to check on an individual's U.S. residency status?
► Hello! I know that before I send in my immigration forms I need to attach a table of...
More Immigration Law questions and answers in Arizona| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press