Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Arizona

What is the law on featuring a real product in a work of performance art?

For a play, or video-cast or webseries or anything like that, what is the law on featuring a real product? If I were to write a character in a script who is always seen with say, a Beanie-Baby and the character often talks to and references it, would I need some kind of permission from the makers of Beanie-Babies?

Asked on 4/26/12, 9:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Burton The Law Office of John Burton, PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, you would likely need a placement license with the holder of the IP rights of the product being used. Please call John Burton at (602) 617-8516 to further discuss your matter.

Read more
5/07/12, 9:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Arizona

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Intellectual Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now