Arizona  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
11/20/10, 1:34 pm

Legal Question


I would like to use a "state" name in a crochet pattern chart. example : Alabama

That would be the chart but the word would be graphed out so people could crochet it. I want to post these patterns each with a different state name on it. Post for free on my website so others can use it for personal use, etc....

Is there any law trademark or copyright that would prohibit me from creating such things? I checked the trademark off and they said I need to ask a lawyer. I checked the copyright office and you can't copyright a name only the work the name is in. Since it is a state name I thought it would be like using "walt disney" or something trademarked.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search