Arkansas  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/18/00, 12:07 pm

Legal Question


Garnishment of wages earned in Arkansas by a Texas resident

I am a Texas resident and homeowner. I borrowed money from a finance company in Texas. I cannot pay it back as agreed and am being threatened by a collection agency to have my wages garnished as I now work for an Arkansas company. Can my wages earned in Arkansas be garnished? It is my understanding that Texans' wages can only be garnished for court-ordered support payments, defaulted student loans and back taxes.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search