Arkansas | Criminal Law
Legal Question
My son was passing through a small Arkansas and was stopped by the deputy for speeding(42 in a 35) and just gave him a warning but asked to search the car. My son said ok. The deputy removed speakers, door panels etc. Searched the trunk and engine and could not find anything. He then took tape and ran it over his carpet and said there was enough to charge him with pocession of marijuana with a fine of $1285.00 plus $94.00 to get his car out of impound. His court date is in Oct. Is this legal? Should we fight it? My son is only 19 and is white; but he dates a black girl from this town. The deputy was white and asked him where he was coming from and he told him and the deputy knew the family and that they were black.


