Legal Question in Real Estate Law in California

California. Upstairs condo owner. While I was on vacation the downstairs neighbor noticed a leak coming from above. It damaged his ceiling but nothing in my condo. When I got home I found the leak was coming from the hose in the back of my fridge. It had been chafed through by a nearby metal part, and it was pretty clear that it was not a poor installation, nor was there any early indication of leak or failure. I assumed that I was liable for the damages, but my insurance disagreed. They said no neglect, no liability. The downstairs neighbor, my hatred of hassle, and my conscience compelled me to pay out of pocket. So my questions are: What should I have done? Who really should have paid for the damages? Did my insurance hang me out to dry?

Asked on 8/09/11, 9:50 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Muntean Mark Muntean, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Without more facts, it appears that you were responsible to the downstairs neighbor. However, your insurance company is incorrect and should have covered the damage.

Read more
8/21/11, 2:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now