California | Disability Law
3/29/98, 7:25 pm
Legal Question
Termination of employment while on disability leave
Can I be terminated by my employer while I am on disability leave?
Termination of employment while on disability leave
Can I be terminated by my employer while I am on disability leave?
|
Read More Answered By: Ken Koury |
not enough information given The general answer is yes, you can be terminated while on disability. Depending on the specific reasons for the termination that answer may change. Your company may or may not come under the ADA and the termination may or may not violate the ADA. More detailed information is needed. |
|
Read More Answered By: Thomas Pavone |
Termination while on disability leave The answer will vary greatly depending on the size of your employer. Coverage under various state and federal statutes may make termination while on a disability leave unlawful. I would first determine if the disability was caused by a work related injury or illness. If yes, you should counsel with a workers' compensation attorney. The work comp attorney should also consider whether there are non-work comp issues (FMLA, CFRA, ADA, FEHA, etc.), in addition to the traditional work comp issues. If not job related, then you should contact an employment lawyer who is experianced in disability discrimination and the various state and federal leave of absence statutes. The above is meant to assist in a general understading of the subject matter. IT IS NOT TO BE REGARDED AS LEGAL ADVICE AND NO ATTORNEY - CLIENT RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED. Companies and individuals with particular questions should seek advice of counsel. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13879
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2058
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
► Telecommutting as a Reasonable Accomodation 2 yrs ago my company whom I'll refer to...
► Am I being dicriminated against or am I being forced out? I received an award from...
► I have been discriminated because of a disability What can I do if I feel that I...
► Recoverable damages under the ADA What types of damages can I recover under the...
► Time limitations to file an ADA claim Are there any time limitations to my ability...
► What is a 'reasonable accommodation' under the ADA? Could you please tell me what...
► What is considered discrimination under the ADA? I would like to know what is...
More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press