California | Banking Law
Legal Question
A friend's credit union authorized a large withdrawl from her account without her approval to a woman that came in with a note saying my friend had sent her to make the withdrawal in the sum of $7,500. My friend told the C.U. she hadn't sent anyone. They showed her the note and picture of the woman that she didn't recognize. She kept her hand over her nose and mouth, making it impossible to identify her. They had my friend sign her name 5 times, and the writing didn't match. They supposedly investigated and determined my friend had authorized the transaction, which she didn't. Therefore, they won't give her her money. They hadn't even filed a police report. She filed one almost 4 weeks after it happened. What can she do to get her money?


