California | Banking Law
Legal Question
Im not sure if u can help, but I was issued a fraudulent check from Allstate insurance I received in the mail. I deposited the money and it cleared. I withdrew the money since they told me I had to send it to them. Now my account is -$4000 because it was fraudulent and they are expecting me to pay it back. All the fees I pay at the back are supposed to fund security systems to protect me from things like this. They should have made sure it was legit before giving it to me. Shouldn' t the person who sent me the check be held responsible ? Can I fight the bank and help save my credit?
Thank you for your time
Sarah Armstrong


