California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/20/06, 6:44 pm

Legal Question


Collection of a debt through bankruptcy

I was in a dispute, with an attorney I retained to settle a divorce, regarding charges. He concurrently filed for bankruptcy due to illness. A collection agency was retained by his estate's BK attny to collect. An attny on behalf of the collection agency filed and was granted a judgment against me to collect. The ill attorney's BK has subsequently been adjudicated. The collection agency (who has not proven to me that they ''own'' the collection) is still pursuing the collection. Q: Does the collection agency have the right to continue to collect if the BK has been adjudicated? Under what laws/actions/circumstances do they have to continue collection? Am I still obligated to pay? If not, how do I resolve the judgment? Rectify my credit w/the reporting agencies? Thank you for your help. Kind regards, MH


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search