Legal Question in Bankruptcy in California

In my divorce I was awarded ownership of the house. Due to the house being 'upside down' I have been unable to refinance to get my ex-husband's name off the loan. I was just notified that my ex-husband is filing Chapter 7 bankruptcy with his new wife and I am wondering how this will impact me and the house.

Asked on 11/15/12, 9:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Absolute Law Now would be a good time to consider filing Chapter 13.. Chapter 13 allows you to lien strip second or third mortgages and get your loans level with water.

Read more
Answered on 11/15/12, 11:30 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now