California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Lawsuit and bankruptcy
I have a situation that i dont know how to deal with. Four years ago I started going to college and finding myself behind in payments i started putting rent and tuition on credit cards. About two years ago i got so far behind that the monthly payments all total were 600 dollars plus monthly rent and food. I couldnt keep up. So i cut my credit cards up and did nothing. After time they got more aggressive trying to collect and I sought a bankruptcy lawyer. I was told I needed 1600 up front to file and I couldnt pay that back after i filed, it had to be up front. I've been saving ever since but now i got served with a summons for a small claims suit in the amount of 1100 dollars. I dont want to pay anything and then pay again to declare bankruptcy but i dont know what my legal responsibilities are? Also the summons was filed in a different county that i moved from 7 months ago. Whats my next step? thanks


