California | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I received a home in my divorce settlement but it has back property taxes ($30,000)
I would like to keep the home for me and my children but I can't afford to pay this tax bill.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Carl Starrett |
You really don't have much choice. If you don't pay the property taxes, 1 of 2 things may happen. First, the County Assessor's office can auction off your property if the taxes become delinquent for 5 years. Property taxes are superior even to a first mortgage. The other and more likely possibility is that your mortgage company will pay the taxes, add them to your mortgage and possibly declare you mortage to be in default because of this.
You should do 2 things. First, talk to your divorce attorney to see if your ex spouse can be made to bring the property current. You may have some other remedy in family court too. Second, talk to a local bankruptcy attorney to see if you have use Chapter 13 to create a repayment plan for the taxes. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Charles Andersen, Atty
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1032
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Larry L. Doan
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Law Office of Mark J. Markus
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego Law Office
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Search Questions and Answers


