California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
9/15/09, 2:32 pm

Legal Question


I'm retired. Never thought at my age that I'd be thinking about last resort...bankruptcy; however, I cannot afford to get car repairs or the smallest repair on my manufactured home. My lot rent goes up 5% every year. I pay over $1,000 a year to county for possessory interest tax. Interest rates are being greatly increased on credit cards. Everything is going up! Worried about State and Fed taxes next year. It has come down to either never have a dime to spare or consider bankruptcy and have bad credit for the rest of my life. Not even sure I am eligible for bankruptcy because I am NEVER behind on payments & always pay more than minimum. However, after paying bills, there is not enough to make ends meet for whole month and never enough for extras like termite control, which I need, on my home. I've looked into debt relief, and it means a commitment to establishments I don't trust for a period of five years paying basically the same amount that I am presently paying to creditors. I own my four-year-old home and old car. Any advice?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search