California | Bankruptcy
6/16/09, 11:11 pm
Legal Question
student loans
I need to know if its possible to file BK against student loans.
student loans
I need to know if its possible to file BK against student loans.
|
Read More Answered By: Michael Stone |
Re: student loans Verily a loan officer will fit through the eye of a needle before you.can discharge a student loan through a BK, which is why student loans are such a racket and why billionaires who made their fortune through student loans sit on the boards of colleges and decide how much to raise tuition. But I digress.
Student loans can only be discharged in a BK if there is "undue hardship," which has been interpreted very, very strictly. The Pope will officiate at your same-sex marriage before a bankruptcy judge will find "undue hardship."
Yesterday the US Supreme Court agreed to decide a procedural issue on this point. The 9th Circuit Court of Appeals had softened the rule a little bit, expect the Supremes to side with the loan companies. |
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Re: student loans I Wish!!! When that becomes possible, someone please email me, and I'll be hiring a bankruptcy attorney same day. |
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1454
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 1027
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 899
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-30
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Studio City, CA
Questions Answered: 804
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-17
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► Does Automatic stay stop Tax Collector sale I have filed a Chapter 7 BK and just...
► DIvorce after Chapter 13 What happens to our Chapter 13 if we divorce?
► Social Security Debt Dischargeable? Due to a percieved overpayment by ssi, they are...
► Chptr 7 I'm modifiying my 1st mort. My 2nd was extremely stubborn and not willing to...
► Dependent Domestic Partner and Chapter 13 Bankruptcy Plan I am currently in an...
► Chapter 13 and keeping property that secures the loan If someone declares chapter 13...
► Going to file BK, but got a summons now. I've been needing to file for bankruptcy...
More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press