California  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/24/04, 4:08 pm

Legal Question


Bad Reference

My previous employer is giving me a bad reference. I held many job responsibilities in the office and they increased once he had terminated the other office employee. He had promised a raise in my compansation for the additional job responsibilities. However, I felt what he offered was very unreasonable and gave him many examples of why I should entitled for more. When I had done this he became very offended and began treating my with a grudge in the office. Seeing our work relationship deteriorating, I gave my 2 week notice along with an option for him to waive the final 2 weeks of employment. After going through the necessary steps to leave on good terms, my previous employer has not been giving me a favorable reference. After attending several interviews, I have been recently informed of the poor reference he has been providing me. I have always been a hard working and dedicated employee for all of my previous employers. I feel his behavior has been very unprofessional and I would like to explore what my options may be in this peticular situation. I look forward to your responce.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search