California  |  Business Law

question bubble
7/05/08, 8:34 pm

Legal Question


City business license

I'm a sculptor in L. A. with a Los Angeles business license. A firm in Indio needed my services to finish sculpting a water fall they were building at their facility for a golf tournament in 05. I sculpted the falls in about 2 weeks and they finished it. Instead of going on payroll I billed them for my time. Now 3 years later I get a bill from some company the city of Indio has hired to find all the people who may have worked in the city of Indio without getting a separate Indio city license. I had no idea that my LA license, since I'm based here, wouldn't cover me fully in other cities while doing a job on location. On top of charging me for an 05 Indio city biz license they are charging me a penalty of almost the same amount. How could I've known about that type of Indio city ordinance - can they do this legally and what happens if I just ignore them? What action can they take besides sending me bill after bill? PS - I've never worked there since and never ever plan to again.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search