California | Business Law
Legal Question
Corporate Law
What forms need to be filed with the IRS when filing a DBA for a Non-profict Corporation?
Can more than 1 DBA be used for a Non-profit Corporation?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Corporate Law I think you are getting your terms mixed up.
First, "DBA" stands for "doing business as" and is used to identify a business name as fictitious, i.e., not the real name of the person or corporation. A corporation doing business under its true corporate name does not involve a DBA. Of course, a corporation, as well as an individual, can, if it chooses, adopt and use a fictitious business name.
However, a fictitious business name or "DBA" is filed with the county clerk, not the IRS! Such a filing is on a form prescribed by statute and available at the clerk's office. There is also a requirement that the fictitious business name be published in a public notice in a newspaper.
A non-profit corporation that wants to be "tax exempt" so that donors can deduct donations to it musy apply for and obtain an exemption from the IRS under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c). The most common exemption is claimed and obtained under 501(c)(3), but there are others.
Applying for such an exemption is difficult and time-consuming. The application forms are available on the IRS Web site at www.irs.gov, but well before trying to download and fill in the forms, you need to do a ton of background work to determine which kind of exemption your organization will qualify for, if any, and what steps you need to take to get the organization prepared to qualify and operate as a tax-exempt.
When you go to the IRS Web site, click to get the forms and publications by number, then look for Publication 557 and Form 1023. Read 557 first, then use 1023 if it is the right one.
I'm not quite prepared to say you require a lawyer's services to prepare and file a successful 501(c) application, but I do believe you will find the questions asked on the form pretty technical and difficult to answer without assistance. Once you file the form, you can anticipate a wait of weeks to months while it is processed, and more likely than not, you will get some follow-up questions.
There are some Nolo Press-type books available for organizing, qualifying and running non-profits; if you can't afford a lawyer, this might be your next best bet. |
|
Read More Answered By: Jonas Grant |
Re: Corporate Law It's not clear from your question what you are seeking to do - which makes me think you may need some professional assistance to accomplish yoru goals. DBAs and corporations are not the same thing (although a corporation can have a DBA). Form 1023 is the application for tax exempt status with the IRS. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


