California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/23/02, 3:32 pm

Legal Question


Deactivated gun import?

I want to buy a deactivated submachine gun in Europe. I want to ship it to California. I am a French citizen, and legal permanent resident in the USA (California). The gun is a russian submachine PPSH41 (or PSH41), dated 1944 or 1943. The submachine has been deactivated, and has been authorized for sale by dealers in Germany. Am I authorized to import this deactivated gun, and all its parts (drum magazine) in California? What paper work or licence (?) do I have to get? What taxes do I have to pay? What is the process for importing this deactivated gun? May I resell this deactivated gun to another individual in california or another state? I am not a dealer.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search