California | Business Law
Legal Question
Define a Contract and makes it enforceable or not
I am looking to define ''contract'' and better understand what makes a contract, what makes it binding, and how does a person go about drafting one.
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Chris Johnson |
Re: Define a Contract and makes it enforceable or not The answer to this question takes several weeks in law school, but the basics are: a meeting of the minds, which is expressed (ideally on paper), with agreement by each person to the contract. If an item is not included in the written contract, it may not be enforceable later, so write the important things down (when, where, what, who, how much, and what happens if the contract isn't followed).
The evidence of this agreement should be a signature by all parties involved.
If the contract deals with large values, or potentially large values, an attorney should be involved in at least reviewing it. If this is a contract for business services, it's likely there are forms out there (in the library or bookstores) you can use as a starting point. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Re: Define a Contract and makes it enforceable or not The usual 'law school' definition of a contract goes something like this: A contract is a set of promises between two or more parties, for the breach of which the law provides a remedy.
Translated into more everyday terms, this means a contract is a set of promises that, if broken, could result in a successful lawsuit for damages. For example, if you agree to paint my house and I agree to pay you $1,000 for doing it, either of us could sue the other and expect to get some damages if the other breaks his promise. Therefore, the agreement is a contract. On the other hand, if Suzy 'stands up' Tommy on their date for the prom, he can't sue; this was a social agreement, not a contract.
Contracts require parties with legal capacity to contract, legal subject matter, and 'consideration,' which essentially means he who expects to get something must give something in return. Some contracts must be in writing, most do not. It is possible in unusual cases to create a contract by actions without any express written or oral exchanges of words; these are called implied contracts or contracts implied in fact.
A binding contract is formed when one party makes an offer and the other accepts the offer. Being able to recognize a legally-sufficient offer and acceptance requires training. Most advertisments are not offers, therefore a purported acceptance does not result in a contract binding the advertiser. There are exceptions.
No particular language is required in a contract. As noted above, contracts can be made without words. Nevertheless, good contracts should be in writing, and contain:
1) Identification of the parties; 2) What party X is to do for party Y; 3) What party Y must do for party X in exchange; 4) The time, sequence or duration of the performances to by furnished; 5) Any supporting promises, representations or warranties; and 6) What happens if problems arise during the course of the contract.
Law libraries have volumes of model contracts for various purposes, such as leases, purchase orders, employment agreements, stock options, and many more.
Drafting good contracts is an art and requires a combination of legal knowledge and a clear understanding of what the deal is all about. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


