California | Business Law
Legal Question
need help with Form Interrogatories & Requests for Admissions
Pending civil case with ex-employer. Already had discovery & trial date is set. No longer have an attorney. Funds hv been depleted by this action & have no income. Probably will not even show for trial. I know this is not recommended. Their case is based on myself & another employee starting another company while employed there, stealing trade secrets, etc. Majority of the complaint is completely fabricated, but we did form an LLC while working there. My question is regarding some documents I received. Form Interrogatories and a Declaration for Additional Discovery on First Set of Requests for Admissions. I noticed that the Interrogatories ''have not'' been filed with the court and a sentence on the forms reads, ''interrogatories are designed for optional use by parties''. Does this mean I don't have to respond to the redundant Interrogatories? Being that it says ''optional''. Also, I see that the Request for Admissions ''have'' been filed with the court. Am I legally bound to respond to the Request for Admissions? Am I in contempt of court if I do not respond? There are 62 more questions that begin, ''Admit to...''. If I AM legally bound to respond to the Admissions, can I simply respond, ''I do not admit to this'' for each statement? Thanks


