California | Business Law
Legal Question
Gift Cards
If my company uses a different name other than gift card (bonus bucks, etc.), are laws regarding gift cards/certificates still applicable to us? These cards would not be sold, but given to employees, clients, etc.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Cian Mitsunaga |
Re: Gift Cards California laws regarding gift cards would still apply regardless of the name used. Of course, the nature of the gift cards may allow for there to be exceptions to the general statutory requirements. For example, the general statutory statutory rule for gift cards do not apply to gift cards given to a consumer through a promotional program without the exchange of money (CA Civ. Code Section 1749.5). However,there are still requirements that must be met, and the requirements may differ depending on the circumstance under which you issue the gift cards. I would be more than happy to advise you as to your specific situation. Feel free to contact me. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
The Law Offices of H.M. Torrey
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Carl H. Starrett II
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Search Questions and Answers


