California  |  Business Law

question bubble
4/25/05, 3:40 pm

Legal Question


Is it illegal to use letterhead of a fictitioius company ?

Dear professionals,

I am a web designer and have been sent to collections on a overdue credit card(collections agency has sent their nasty letter pretending to be an attorney but of course they have no license to practice).

Here's my question.

Because one of the web sites I own is that of a fictitious legal office, I wanted to know if using letterhead that reflects this web site (Law Offices of...) would be illegal in any way ?

I am not claiming to be an attorney in the letter (in fact I clearly state ''Pro Se''). I've been told that it can't be illegal because I am not making promises on anyone’s behalf, and am not claiming anything on behalf of any company (such as ''we'').

Any answers will be greatly appreciated.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search