California  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/10/09, 7:26 pm

Legal Question


Is it legal for a printer of books to hold on to them when 50% of the bill was paid up front and the remaining 50% due upon completion?

I am a publisher who was having books printed for two of my clients. Each client is in a separate business. One of my clients refused the books because of quality issues of the final printed product so I therefore refused to pay for the final 50% of the printer's bill until they fixed the books. The other client wants his books. Therefore technically his particular order is paid for with the one client.

The printer has been holding onto all the books and not releasing anything until everything is paid in full for all the books.... plus they are adding on shipping charges when I will be using my own shipping company for the half order. I live in San Diego and am the key principle in an L.L.C. The contract was done with a print broker in Los Angeles, the printer is in Valencia, CA. and was recently purchased from a company in MN.

My client who wanted his books has sued for his money back because he hasn't received his books. (I no longer have this money because my business is failing and reputation ruined because of this incident). I would like to provide my client with his books because it is the right thing to do. My client also said he would drop the judgement if he received his books. I'm not sure how to fight this. Yes, I've tried discussing this with everyone involved in the printing scenario and no one is budging. Now the print broker has sent this to a collection company in Iowa and they won't even send me an accounting of what is owed minus the shipping charges. Help??? Where do I even begin. Where is jurisdiction?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search