California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/24/06, 7:02 pm

Legal Question


Partner wants me out... What options do I have?

I have been in a partnership for 2 years. We have a small but growing company that produces videos. Recently my partner told me he wants me out and wants full ownership of the company. I am fine with it as I haven't been as involved as I would like to be because of other obligations.

When I suggested that he needs to buy me out since we do have assists that have value he disagreed and told me I need to just sign over the company. I think I was very fare in that I was not asking for much for the buy-out (sub $3000), I just wanted some amount for my troubles. Since that conversation (3 weeks ago) I have not been able to contact him by any means. I checked our business account and checks we have received from our distributor in the past 2 months have been cashed by him while I have been unaware (unfortunately we had everything address to his home). At this point what are my options? Should I get a lawyer? I’m just afraid that I’ll end up spending more on attorney fees then the company is worth.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search