Re: Partner taking funds without authorization
The answer to your first question regarding whether taking business money for personal use is a criminal act is probably yes based on the facts stated in your question, however the facts may dictate otherwise. The act would probably be considered embezzlement of company funds. If you wish to pursue this criminally then you should make a police report and report to the District Attorneys Office for investigation.
Your next question is what ramifications do the other partners have. The "partners" (members) may be able 1) to terminate the membership interest of a member from the LLC depending on the operating agreement and 2) may seek reimbursement of the business funds used by the member for personal use in a civil action.
The first thing to do would be to examine your LLC operating agreement closely to determine if there is anything regarding Operating Members Duties and Liabilities or other similar language. Next examine the agreement and determine how an LLC membership interest may be terminated.
An LLC's operating agreement may provide for termination in whole or part of membership interests and economic interests. If an economic interest is so terminated, the member is entitled to demand and receive a return of that interest (Corp. Code § 17100(c)).
Next regarding reimbursement of the funds, a civil action under tort and contract theories is possible and recovery, based on the facts as indicated, likely. The contract actions would depend on the language of the operating agreement. Tort causes of action would be based on a breach of a fiduciary duty theory. The most applicable to this situation is 1) Breach of the Duty of Care, and 2) Breach of the Duty of Loyalty.
Duty of Care- Directors (Members of an LLC) are vested with the duty to manage the corporation (LLC) to the best of their ability; they are not insurers of
success, but rather required to discharge their duties:
1. In good faith;
2. With the care that an ordinary prudent person in that position would exercise; and
3. In a manner that is in the best interest of the corporation (LLC).
Duty of Loyalty- A director (member of an LLC) owes a duty of loyalty to the corporation (LLC). Duty of loyalty problems arise when there is self dealing (as in this case) or if there is conflict of interests between the director and corporation. Along those lines a director (LLC member) may not self deal by making disbursements to himself unless the transaction is 1) fair and 2) approved by the other directors (LLC members) after full disclosure.
Along those lines, a member or assignee of a member of an LLC is personally obligated to return an improper distribution from an LLC to the extent that the member or assignee had actual knowledge of facts indicating the impropriety of the distribution (Corp. Code § 17254(e)).
I hope that this answer helped with your question. Please do not hesitate to call me if you need further assistance or wish to pursue this legally.