California  |  Business Law

question bubble
3/19/07, 2:48 pm

Legal Question


Professional Credibility / Reimbursement Issue

My boss continually asks me to submit presentations for conferences on behalf of our company under my name. They are always accepted, but in many cases, I am asked to back out at the last minute, tarnishing my own reputation (as well as the company's). Recently, I was told to submit an abstract for a conference in Australia that will involve international travel. My husband requested his vacation time, and my company reimbursed me for the conference registration fees. I also made the hotel reservations and purchased my flights. My husband planned to visit a friend while I am at the conference, and the friend took vacation time as well.

Less than a month prior to the event, my boss sent me an e-mail saying that ''we are not attending''.

I have not submitted my flights for reimbursement yet, but my boss is insinuating that the company will not pay for them. I believe he is doing this as a punishment of some sort. I explained to him that the impact of this to me, both personally and professionally, is extremely harmful. He is not budging. It is not a financial issue, as the majority of expenses have been paid already (out of my pocket). Is there anything I can do from a legal standpoint?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search