California  |  Business Law

question bubble
3/08/02, 11:46 pm

Legal Question


Public Utilities and Their Power Over Small Business

We have a manufacturing business. We took an industrial unit in a multi-tenant building. The power was supposed to be 3 phase (we were told that it was by the local power company) but it turned out to be single phase. We went through the appropriate channels to install 3 phase.

My partner's question is this: If the building inspector approved the work done to the building for the 3 phase, does the local power co. have a right to say it isn't correct and not turn on power to the unit? The electrician who did the work was frustrated with the power co.'s response as he put the same equipment in a neighboring unit in the same building and it was approved. He suggested we speak with a lawyer.

Our business hasn't had power for weeks. The added delay might cause us serious loss. Is it possible to sue a company when it is in bankruptcy?

Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search