California  |  Business Law

question bubble
12/31/02, 2:54 pm

Legal Question


service termination dispute

I hired a publicist to help us with publicity pay/probono. I said i'd pay her for 3 months ($6k tota)as long as i got two months pro bono. Throughout the term she sent me email trying to lock me into $10k for 5 mths, which means no pro bono. I wasn't really getting what i need in terms of publicity, and i decided to end the relationship after the third month (which were paid in full). At that point, i decided to part our ways. She is suing me for $4k for the remaining 2 months (that we can't agree on--pay vs pro bono.) She's claiming a verbal agreement. I never agreed to $10,000 and i never signed anything. Does she have a legal basis? I never agreed to those terms. In fact, a mutual friend was the one who bokered the arrangemenet between us and introduced us to each other with the understanding that she would provide service pro-bono. Am i responsible for her expectation of additional work? Please advise


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search