California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/02/11, 9:58 am

X has a car showroom, Y entered the showroom, and the latter was interested in several cars. Y chose two cars to compare between (a brand new Mercedes-Benz and a used Jaguar), Y went to X in his office, and after a long conversation, X offered Y the prices of both cars. Y had to travel on a business trip. X asked Y to send his reply through a telegram maximum by 7/1/2011.

Y sent his acceptance -via telegram- on the offer of the Mercedes-Benz on 5/1/2011, and it reached X on 18/1/ 2011.

On 7 / 1/ 2011, X telexed Y offering a sale on the Jaguar for the Eastern Christmas sale, and accordingly sold the Mercedes- Benz on the 10th of January, 2011.

On the 15th of January, 2011, Y entered the showroom expecting to be delivered his Mercedes- Benz, but X told him that it was sold as he didn’t receive an acceptance for the offer and consequently the offer was terminated.

Y sued X and claimed for the Mercedes-Benz car, as X and Y had a valid contract.

Discuss and issue a Judgment.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search