California  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
9/09/03, 9:35 pm

Legal Question


Double Jeopardy

I have always been forthcoming with my criminal record consisting of 6 or 7 misdemeanors. The Department of Justice has approved my fingerprints to work with children for the last ten years on approx. 10-12 different occassions. Due to Department changes that took effect this past January, the Department will not approve my fingerprints due to their inability to aquire disposition of sentence. All records have been purged and dispositions are unavailable. This places my job in jeopardy for a school district. I was prosecuted once on these cases and completed the consequences of my actions. I now feel that the Department of Justice is in direct violation of Article V of the U.S. Constitution placing me as subject for the same offense twice. Do I have a legal leg to stand on??? Please help, I'm at wits end as all I'm trying to do is teach emotionally disturbed youth in middle school. Thank You for any advice. I would add that the offenses took place over fifteen years ago with no new violations.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search