California | Construction Law
10/16/09, 11:32 pm
Legal Question
In California, is it legal to spray lacquer in your garage as a business? If not, what type of permit is required?
In California, is it legal to spray lacquer in your garage as a business? If not, what type of permit is required?
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
That's a local ordinance issue on the basic permits. Check with your city and county governments. You probably also have CalOSHA, EPA and other environmental and occupational health issues to deal with. This is not something you're going to get covered properly in a free question/answer website.
Just as a related thought, though, when I was a teen in the 70's, my neighbor used to restore old cars for a living, in his garage. He did the most BEAUTIFUL 12 coat lacquer finishes, hand sanding between coats, and rubbing out by hand for hours, until he had surfaces that looked so liquid you thought they'd run off the car, and so deep you thought you could dive into them. Fortunately or unfortunately he'd be out of business now with all the regulations involved, and really quite frankly, I hope the people who live there now aren't eating vegetables grown in the yard, if you get my drift. Bottom line: those days are gone. Probably best to find a commercial site and follow the rules. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
I'd predict you would never be able to obtain the permits for a conventional garage in a residential area of Hayward. The air quality management people would require specially-constructed this-and-that, including a vapor recovery system. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Moraga, CA
Questions Answered: 898
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-26
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
► We are selling a house that we are still working on, under contract with a GC. the...
► What time in the morning can consrtuction start in apartment complex?
► Our business did a big job my husbands bid/contract ran short on funds. We were able...
► When a personal vehicle is damaged at a construction site by a bobcat who is...
► What can a handyman contract price wise without having a genral contractors lic. ?
► I purchased a two story home in 2008 that was built in 2005. I had a leak from the...
► Reposted from Oct 1. In 2007 I hired a contractor, licensed in California, to build...
More Construction Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press