California | Construction Law
Legal Question
New company owner won't honor roof warranty
My mother-in-law hired a licensed contractor to re-roof her mobile home in 1998. The company gave her a written warranty: 10 years labor/ 15 years materials. This past winter the roof failed. My MIL called the same company and a guy came out saying he was the new owner. He inspected the roof, said it was a faulty installation, but refused to honor the warranty.
The company name is the same, same address, same phone number, although they are using a new contractor's license number. Even their website advertises ''in business for over 20 years!'' Isn't the new owner liable for the liabilities of the business even if they were incurred before he purchased it?
Also: new owner states old owner retired and moved to Mexico, so not much chance to pursue him legally.


